GDPR Resource Center | Derogations Tracker

GDPR Derogations Tracker

The GDPR is directly effective in each EU Member State, but also permits Member States to derogate in several important areas. Latham & Watkins' European data privacy team has worked with European counsel to develop comparative summaries of local derogations in key areas across the EU Member States (where available). The information in this table was last globally updated April 2018.

Select up to three countries to compare permitted local variations in GDPR-implementing legislation.

Member States

  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom